News Flash Home
The original item was published from 3/31/2016 1:24:16 PM to 4/14/2016 12:00:08 AM.

News Flash

Police Department

Posted on: March 31, 2016

[ARCHIVED] APD Honors Officers, Volunteers at Annual Awards Ceremony


Acts of sacrifice, heroism and kindness were recognized by the Allen Police Department on Wednesday, March 30. The annual awards ceremony honors citizens, officers and volunteers who contributed to the work of Allen Police.

The ceremony highlighted moments of integrity and compassion displayed by department staff during 2015, from the simple act of purchasing a soda for a man who had no money to the life-saving heroics of rescuing three girls from a raging creek. The department also recognized officers for critical but less visible tasks, such as organizing the evidence room or teaching crime scene processing.

Awards were presented to more than thirty officers, including:

• Certificate of Civic Achievement: Ofc. Chance Graves
• Award of Team Excellence: Allen SWAT Team (Ofc. Gino Ruatta, Ofc. Alan Thiele, Ofc. Mark Smajstrla, Investigator Tim Dowd, Investigator Robert Henbest, Investigator Chris Simpson, Investigator Keith Compton, Cpl. Frank Page, Cpl. Rich Danko, Sgt. Todd Cleveland, Ofc. Marshall Kies, Cpl. Rich Adams, Lt. Marshall DeBlanc)
• Award of Team Excellence: Junior Police Academy Team (Ofc. Christa Weisinger, Ofc. Chris Johnson, Ofc. Anthony Garcia, Sgt. Todd Cleveland)
• Award of Team Excellence: Property/Evidence Technician Austin Walker, Property/Evidence Technician Chris Gates
• Meritorious Conduct Bar: Sgt. Jason Erter, Ofc. Matt Koehrsen
• Police Commendation Bar: Ofc. Jimmy Everett
• Life Saving Award: Investigator Jason Adams
• Chief’s Award (Non-Sworn): Animal Control Officer Tammy Chow-Hayes
• Chief’s Award (Sworn): Ofc. Tony Brown
• Civilian Employee of the Year: Criminalist Calli McClendon
• Communications Technician of the Year: Communications Technician Sarah Hogue
• Rookie of the Year: Ofc. Aaron Steensma
• Investigator of the Year: Investigator Robert Henbest
• Supervisor of the Year: Sgt. Brandon Price
• Officer of the Year: Ofc. Christa Weisinger

Allen Police volunteers were recognized as well. Duane Nunnallee was named the VIP Volunteer of the Year. Jay Gnadt was presented with Citizen on Patrol of the Year.

The department also presented certificates of appreciation to two families who showed particular generosity to Allen officers. Mike and Debra Bent assist with kennels and equipment for the Allen K-9 unit and drop off Christmas gift baskets full of dog treats, toys and other essentials each year. Micah Cooke and his family were also honored for offering financial assistance to two Allen Police officers in obvious times of need.

Facebook Twitter Email