Texas law requires drivers to stop when a school bus is stopped and operating a visual signal. But many drivers are confused about when the law applies.
According to Texas statute, a driver – traveling in either direction – must stop when approaching a stopped bus. The driver may not proceed until one of the following occurs: the school bus resumes motion; the operator is signaled by the bus driver to proceed; or the visual signal is no longer activated.
If a road is divided only by a left-turning lane, drivers on both sides of the roadway must stop for school buses with alternating red flashing lights activated. However, if the lanes are separated by an intervening space or physical barrier, only motorists going in the same direction as the bus are required to stop.
To help drivers understand the law, the City of Allen has created a visual aid to illustrate when drivers should stop for a school bus. Drivers who violate the law could face fines as much as $1,250.
Texas law also prohibits use of cell phones or other hand-held devices in school zones. Fines range from $200 to $500.