News Flash

Police Department

Posted on: April 9, 2019

Allen Police Recognize Officers, Volunteers at Annual Ceremony

Photo of Allen Police Chief Brian Harvey standing next to honoree.

Dozens of Allen Police officers, staff members and volunteers were celebrated on April 3 for making Allen a safer place to live.

Allen Police presented Team Excellence Awards to officers involved in three harrowing situations:

  • When a man suspected of driving drunk ran a red light, Officers Jacob Snyder and Hiram Castro helped ensure the safety and welfare of several motorists involved in the crash.
  • When a suicidal individual threatened to take his own life at a local hotel, Sgt. Todd Cleveland, Cpl. Cody Turner, Cpl. Kevin Bartlett, Investigator Brandon White, Officer Sammy Terrazas-Ramirez, Officer Matt Koehrsen, Investigator Jody Whitney, Officer Dillon Egizi, Investigator Michael Canon and Officer Damien Jacobs helped prevent him from fatally harming himself or injuring responding officers.
  • When an Allen High School student left home with a firearm after writing a troubling note, Sgt. Todd Cleveland, Officer Shawn Sloan, Officer Garrett Courtney, Officer Christa Weisinger, Investigator Kaleb McMillan, Officer Sean Fourcand, Officer Anders Heintz, Officer John Booth and Officer Mario Dmytrus helped track him down.

Life Saving Bars were presented to six people involved in four live-saving events:

  • Sgt. Todd Cleveland and Officer Sammy Terrazas-Ramirez used department-issued combat gauze to treat a suicidal individual who cut his neck during a standoff at a local hotel.
  • Cpl. Lyle Loggins and Officer Stephen Griffith pulled an unconscious man, suspected of driving while intoxicated, from the seat of a burning vehicle.
  • Communication Technician Georgina Flores calmly provided step-by-step instructions so a 9-1-1 caller could perform CPR on his sister. She remained on the phone to provide positive feedback until paramedics arrived.
  • Officer William Brewer responded to a 9-1-1 hang-up near an Allen auto shop and discovered an unconscious man with a belt around his neck in a nearby car. Officer Brewer removed the belt and the man began to breathe on his own. He was transported to a hospital for medical attention and mental evaluation.

The Certificate of Merit was awarded to Sgt. Steven May, who was dispatched to Texas Health Allen on reports of a suicidal patient. He arrived to find the man holding a knife in the hospital parking lot, asking that officers shoot him. Sgt. May remained calm and eventually convinced the man to discard his knife. The man was taken into custody without incident.

Other awards included:

  • Volunteer of the Year: Francis Decker, who donated 518 hours of service
  • Citizen on Patrol of the Year: Kendall Gleason, who donated almost 500 hours of service
  • Chief’s Non-Sworn Award: Senior Administrative Assistant Deborah Goplin
  • Chief’s Sworn Award: Sgt. Jason Erter
  • Civilian Employee of the Year: Public Safety Officer Adam Bader
  • Communication Technician of the Year: Amy Keele
  • Rookie of the Year: Officer William Brewer
  • Investigator of the Year: Investigator Josh Hunt
  • Supervisor of the Year: Sgt. Justin Arsenault
  • Officer of the Year: Investigator Tony Brown

The annual Police Department Awards Ceremony also recognizes individuals who achieve professional certifications and meet milestones for safe driving.

Find more local stories at
Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Police Department